Dec. 7th -Covid-19 Vaccine pop up event💗

Image preview

Hello Parents/Guardians,
 
Due to an overwhelming request, the Pop Up Vaccine for students ages 5 - 11 are returning to our site on Tuesday, December 7, 2021 from 8:30 AM - 3:30 PM!
 
If your child has not received their first dose of the vaccine, this is a great time to get it. As of right now, this pop up is for students receiving the first dose ONLY. Follow up for students who received the first dose must be at a pharmacy or doctor's office. This is subject to change.
 
Please note that a parent must be present for a child to receive the vaccine.
 
Have an incredible Thanksgiving weekend!
 
 
Hola padres / tutores,
Debido a una solicitud abrumadora, la vacuna emergente para estudiantes de 5 a 11 años regresará a nuestro sitio el martes 7 de diciembre de 2021 de 8:30 a.m. a 3:30 p.m.
 
Si su hijo no ha recibido su primera dosis de la vacuna, este es un buen momento para hacerlo. A partir de ahora, esta ventana emergente es para estudiantes que reciben SOLAMENTE la primera dosis. El seguimiento de los estudiantes que recibieron la primera dosis debe realizarse en una farmacia o en el consultorio del médico. Esto está sujeto a cambios.
 
Tenga en cuenta que un padre debe estar presente para que el niño reciba la vacuna.
 
¡Que tengas un increíble fin de semana de Acción de Gracias!

Walter Nino Filippo Galiano Jr.,

Principal

#EveryStudentEveryDay
#LeadersinOurLearning

Get Ready for Middle School Admissions!

Dear families,

Applying to middle school this winter? The application isn’t open yet, but you can start getting ready now to apply later.

What You Can Do Now

  • Explore middle school options. 
    • Use the MySchools.nyc middle school directory to find detailed information about schools of interest; you can also search for schools by course offerings, location, sports, accessibility, and more. A few tips:
      • Most middle school programs have specific requirements about who can apply to them. Later this fall, when you get your welcome letter and log in to MySchools, you’ll be able to see all the programs you’re eligible to apply to in a personalized search. For now, you can check a program’s Eligibility Requirements to learn if your child can apply to it. 
      • Find out which school district you live in for middle school admissions and if you have any zoned schools at schoolsearch.schools.nyc. Your child will have priority to attend their zoned middle school(s).
    • Make a list of schools that interest you and meet your child’s needs
    • Visit these schools’ websites to learn more. Each MySchools directory page features a link to the school’s own website and contact information. You can also reach out to schools directly with questions.
    • Attend virtual or in-person open houses. Many schools’ directory pages also provide direct links to information for prospective families, such as open house information or virtual tours. Touring a school virtually or in person is a great way to imagine what it might be like to go there. When attending events, we recommend bringing a list of questions to ask school staff.
  • Get to know your child’s current school counselor. They will be your best guide through middle school admissions this year. 
  • Learn more about middle school admissions. Pick up a copy of the 2022 NYC Public Schools Admissions Guide at your current school or download an accessible copy in your language from schools.nyc.gov/Middle. Our website is also where you can find all the latest information and watch our admissions video playlist.

What’s Next

Later this fall, 5th grade public school families will receive a personalized welcome letter in the mail. This letter will include a unique code to create a MySchools account or add your child to an existing one. When letters are available, all applicants (including current private and parochial school students) will be able to request a copy from your child’s current school or a Family Welcome Center. 

We’ll let you know when letters are on the way!

 

Best wishes, 

The Middle School Admissions Team, Office of Student Enrollment 

Early Childhood Lab School

School Hours:

  • Kindergarten - 8:20 AM - 2:30 PM
  • Grades 1 – 5 - 8:20 AM – 2:40 PM
  • Grades 3K and PK - 8:10 AM – 2:20 PM - Breakfast is served in the classroom when they arrive,

*Please have your health screening ready to show when dropping off. https://healthscreening.schools.nyc/ We recommend bookmarking it on your device so you can quickly and easily complete the form before sending your child to school each day.

Breakfast: 

School Uniform:

  • Tops - Navy Blue collared shirt that you can purchase anywhere
  • We will provide you with two free patches that you can pick up anytime between 8:30am to 2pm.
  • Bottoms are your choice.😊
  • How To Apply School Logo Patch

You can purchase more, when you come to pick-up your free ones!🧡$3.00 each or two for $5.00.

School Supply List:

Lunch schedule

Lunch menu - https://www.schools.nyc.gov/school-life/food/menus/school-lunch-meals?value=s8#menuDiv (If you would like to send your child with lunch, please send in their book bag daily.)

  • 12:10 PM - Grades K & 1 
  • 1:00 PM  - Grades 2 - 5
  • 3K & PreK are served breakfast and lunch in the classroom from school foods. If you would like to send your child with breakfast or lunch, please send it in their book bag daily.

After school Program:

  • Kip’s Bay After School program will be available starting September 20th, 2021. Please email Rebecca.perez@kipsbay.org if you are interested in enrolling.

Please check your child’s temperature daily and ensure there are no COVID-19 like symptoms and have your child's health screener completed for entry (https://healthscreening.schools.nyc/)

Remember, if your child feels ill, do not send them to school!

We want to keep your child and our school communities healthy and safe, and we must all do our part.

Fall-2021-Student-testing-consent-form

Thank you for your partnership in supporting our students in learning! 🧡

Walter Nino Filippo Galiano Jr.,

Principal, 

  

#EveryStudentEveryDay
#LeadersinOurLearning

2021 Advance Child Tax Credit (CTC)

Time is running out!

Thanks to the 2021 American Rescue Plan Act, the 2021 Advance Child Tax Credit (CTC) is available to help NYC families afford the everyday expenses of raising a child throughout the COVID-19 pandemic. If you have children 17 years of age or younger and have not received advance CTC payments this year, you may be able to claim half of your annual CTC—worth up to $3,600 per child—as advance monthly payments in 2021. Families whose first payment is in November will receive up to $900 per child in November and December 2021. Families whose first (and only) payment is in December will be up to $1,800 per child.

If you have yet to receive payments this year and have not filed a 2020 tax return, we encourage you to sign up before November 15, 2021 in order to receive your advance CTC payment in 2021. Note that in order to receive the other half of your CTC, you will need to file a tax return in 2022.

Young child helps dad drink coffee while he works on laptop at home. Text reads, Get Money for Your Family! Claim Advance Child Tax Credit payments by 11/15/2021. NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection logo is on the lower right corner.

Families who do not receive advance CTC payments in 2021 can claim their full credit amount by filing a 2021 tax return in 2022.

Qualifying for the Child Tax Credit

You can claim the CTC even if you have no income or do not file taxes normally. The CTC will not affect other benefits. Parents do not need a Social Security number, but children aged 17 years old or younger must have one to qualify.

Claiming Your Child Tax Credit

If you haven’t received CTC advance payments in 2021, you have two ways to claim your tax credit:

    • File a 2020 tax return. Visit New York City’s official Child Tax Credit webpage to schedule tax help with an Internal Revenue Service (IRS)-certified Volunteer Income Tax Assistance preparer through NYC Free Tax Prep. Virtual, drop-off, and in-person help options are available.
    • Sign up to receive payments at GetCTC.org/nyc. You should only use this tool if you are NOT required to fill out a 2020 tax return because your annual income is below $18,650 for single individuals with dependents or $24,800 for married couples.
 

If you filed a 2019 or 2020 tax return or used the IRS Non-Filer Tool to sign up for stimulus payments, no further action is needed to receive your advance CTC payments. To check whether you’re enrolled for advance payments or to update your bank account and mailing address, visit the IRS Child Tax Credit Update Portal.

 

For more information about advance CTC payments, including frequently asked questionsvisit the City’s official Child Tax Credit webpage, or call 311.

Remember; families who have not received advance CTC deposits this year should claim their payments by November 15, 2021, so verify your status, and put some cash in your family’s pocket today!

CEC D8 Monthly Scheduled Calendar Meetings💗

 

Special Education Office Hours and Support for Parents💗3pm - 5pm

 

SCHOOl CONTACT EMAIL LIST

school logo

Teacher/Staff Details

School DBN: 08X304

 
Name
Job Title
Email Address
Walter Nino Galiano Jr
Principal
WGaliano@schools.nyc.gov
Bonnie Boltax
12 Month Assistant Principal
BBoltax@schools.nyc.gov
Rosely Hernandez Miles
Teacher
RHernan4@schools.nyc.gov
Renee Airhuoyo
Teacher
RAirhuoyo@schools.nyc.gov
Claribel Rodriguez
F/T Family Para
CRodriguez106@schools.nyc.gov
Francine Francis
Clerical Associate
FFranci@schools.nyc.gov
Karen Vasquez Cuevas
Teacher
KVasquezcuevas@schools.nyc.gov
Jessica Maldonado
PTA President
PS304pta@gmail.com
Arlene Cacace
Occupational Therapist(DOE)
ACacace2@schools.nyc.gov
Rolando Chusan
Annual Educational Para
RChusan@schools.nyc.gov
Lisa Schiliro
Community Associate
LSchiliro@schools.nyc.gov
Dalia Calderon
Annual Educational Para
DCalderon7@schools.nyc.gov
Jonna Calzolaio
Teacher
JCalzolaio2@schools.nyc.gov
Robert Finkelstein
School Psychologist
RFinkel@schools.nyc.gov
Joana Akitcher
School Social Worker
JAkitch@schools.nyc.gov
Diana Villanueva Illas
Teacher
DVillanuevaillas@schools.nyc.gov
Christina Mc Grath
Teacher
CMCGRAT2@schools.nyc.gov
Paul Haber
Teacher
PHaber@schools.nyc.gov
Sherry Young-Brown
Teacher
SYoungBrown@schools.nyc.gov
Deirdre Lynch
Teacher Special Education
DLynch12@schools.nyc.gov
Grace Campbell
Teacher
GCampbell4@schools.nyc.gov
Jennifer King
Teacher
JKing7@schools.nyc.gov
Tonia Conte
Teacher Special Education
TConte3@schools.nyc.gov
Cathy Bernard
Teacher
CBernar2@schools.nyc.gov
Michael Lopez
Teacher
MLopez49@schools.nyc.gov
Lucy Misciagna
F/T School Aide
LMisciagna@schools.nyc.gov
Nicole Russo
Teacher Special Education
NRusso2@schools.nyc.gov
Gail Maita
F/T School Aide
GMaita@schools.nyc.gov
Lucy Johnson
Teacher
LJohnson26@schools.nyc.gov
Angelica Cutrone
Teacher
ACutron@schools.nyc.gov
Angela Lichti
School Secretary
ALichti@schools.nyc.gov
Jaime Iurato
Teacher
JIurato@schools.nyc.gov
Elaine Crosby
Annual Educational Para
ECrosby@schools.nyc.gov
Lisa Blackman
Teacher
LBlackman2@schools.nyc.gov
Victoria Arroyo
Teacher
VArroyo32@schools.nyc.gov
Mary Mutze
School Secretary
MMutze@schools.nyc.gov
Claudia Castro Baez
Teacher Special Education
CCastroBaez@schools.nyc.gov
Tara Oldyn
Teacher
TOldyn@schools.nyc.gov

SCHOOl CONTACT EMAIL LIST - page 2

school logo

Teacher/Staff Details

School DBN: 08X304

 

Name
Job Title
Email Address
Antonia Colbrook
F/T School Aide
AColbrook@schools.nyc.gov
Bridget Lent
Annual Educational Para
BLent2@schools.nyc.gov
Debra Vecchione
Teacher
DVecchione@schools.nyc.gov
Jeremy Williams
Annual Educational Para
JWilliams54@schools.nyc.gov
Erin Settanni
Teacher
ESettanni@schools.nyc.gov
Stella Sallar Quist
Annual Educational Para
SSallarQuist@schools.nyc.gov
Ginamarie Micela
Teacher
GMicela@schools.nyc.gov
Gregory Longarzo
Occupational Therapist(DOE)
GLongarzo2@schools.nyc.gov
Margaret Sheehan
F/T School Aide
MSheehan5@schools.nyc.gov
Jennifer Napolitano
Teacher
JNapolitano3@schools.nyc.gov
Fatima Santana
School Social Worker
FSantana3@schools.nyc.gov
Carlyn Hammond
Teacher Special Education
CHammond@schools.nyc.gov
Danielle Geni
Teacher
DGeni@schools.nyc.gov
Sandhya Sinha
Physical Therapist (DOE)
SSinha2@schools.nyc.gov
Violeta Sinanaj
Teacher Special Education
VSinanaj@schools.nyc.gov
Lisa Tanturri
Teacher Special Education
LTanturri@schools.nyc.gov
Anthony Fouchecourt
Teacher
AFouchecourt@schools.nyc.gov
Abraham Jeremiah
Teacher Special Education
AJeremiah@schools.nyc.gov
Douglas Fraser
Teacher Special Education
DFraser4@schools.nyc.gov
Christie Marshall
Teacher Special Education
CMarshall5@schools.nyc.gov
Marissa Rivera
School Psychologist
MRivera117@schools.nyc.gov
Christine Mcguire
Teacher
CMcguire6@schools.nyc.gov
Nicholas Carola
Teacher
NCarola@schools.nyc.gov
Michelina Auriemma
Annual Educational Para
MAuriemma@schools.nyc.gov
Dikirys Pichardo
Teacher Assigned 
DPichardo2@schools.nyc.gov
Donna Dalessio
Annual Educational Para
DDalessio2@schools.nyc.gov
Lisa Baamonde
Annual Educational Para
LBaamonde2@schools.nyc.gov
Kristina Aiello
Teacher Special Education
KAiello@schools.nyc.gov
Rosa Sacco
Teacher Special Education
RSacco@schools.nyc.gov
Martha Mccauley
Annual Educational Para
MMccauley7@schools.nyc.gov
Reyna Pleitez
School Psychologist
RPleitez@schools.nyc.gov
Adam Bello
F/T Family Para
ABello10@schools.nyc.gov
Marianela Aponte
Teacher
MAponte17@schools.nyc.gov
Jaclyn Steinberger
Teacher
JSteinb5@schools.nyc.gov

 

NYCSA Parent Portal

There is a new way for you to stay connected to your student’s education and more in the new NYC Schools Account (NYCSA) Portal.

NYC Schools Account (NYCSA) is a web-based application that lets you to see your child’s academic and biographic
information on any computer, phone, or tablet. The application is translated into nine languages other than
English. Not only can you track your student’s academic process, but you can also view other academic resources
to support your student and family.  One sign-in will allow you to:

Track your student’s information such as:

  •  Attendance
  • Grades & Report Cards
  • Assessments (test scores)
  • Emergency Contact Information
  • Transportation
  • Individualized Education Program (IEP)
  • Digital forms, including the COVID-19 Testing
    Consent Form
  • Take classes in Parent University
  • Report bullying
  • Access forms for your child
  • Reset your child's DOE account password


How do I create an NYC Schools Account? NYCSA Parent Portal

https://www.schoolsaccount.nyc/ 

NYCSA Portal Landing Page

NYCSA Parent Portal -page2

In the next few months, more features will be added making this a true one stop for parent facing information to support student learning. 

You can also sign the COVID consent form, fill out emergency contact information and stay better connected to your school, your PA/PTA and your District Parent Leadership.

You can sign up for an account by entering a few basic details. This will allow you to begin receiving notifications from the DOE. It only takes five minutes, and it is the first step in getting a full account. 

MyStudent

Track your Student’s Academic Progress

Did you know that you can track your child’s education on any computer, phone, or tablet? In MyStudent, you can track your student’s academic progress. View their grades, schedule, test scores, transportation, attendance, and more! If your student has an Individualized Education Program (IEP), you can view their student’s recommended services. You must be linked to a student in order to view this information. See the Adding Students section to learn how to link your student to your account. 

School Based Testing Consent 

For Fall 2021, we will continue monthly random testing of students and staff in New York City school buildings. Provide consent to test your child for COVID-19 directly through NYCSA. 

Adding Students 

You will need an Account Creation Code to add students to the account in order to see more detailed information. Once you have done this, you can enjoy all the benefits your NYC Schools Account provides. 

 Having trouble accessing your account, or have forgotten your password?

  • Use the “Forgot your password?” link on the sign-in page to reset it.
  • If the problem continues, contact your child’s school.

If any of the information you see about your child in NYC Schools Account is incorrect, contact your child’s school by emailing Angela Lichti at ALichti@schools.nyc.gov 

If you do not have a creation code, please email  Lisa Schiliro at LSchiliro@schools.nyc.govOpens in a new browser tab  Send the your full name, your child's name and ID number and an Account Creation Code will be sent to you .

Please do not call the school requesting a creation code.😊